TSMC Board of Directors Unanimously Re-elects Dr. Morris Chang as Chairman

Hsinchu, Taiwan, R.O.C. – June 13, 2012 – TSMC (NYSE: TSM) today held the first meeting of the 12th Board of Directors, at which the Board unanimously re-elected Dr. Morris Chang as Chairman and Dr. F.C. Tseng as Vice Chairman of TSMC. In addition, five independent directors – Sir Peter L. Bonfield, Stan Shih, Thomas J. Engibous, Gregory Chow, and Kok-Choo Chen – all renewed their offices in the Audit Committee and Compensation Committee.

TSMC’s Spokesperson and Senior Vice President, Ms. Lora Ho, said that at its meeting today the Board of Directors:

1. Approved capital appropriations of US$3,176.65 million for expanding and upgrading advanced technology capacity, and for 12-inch wafer fabs and equipment.

2. Approved R&D capital appropriations of US$233.20 million.

3. Approved the issuance of an unsecured straight corporate bond in the domestic market for an amount not exceeding NT$45 billion to raise capital for capacity expansion.

TSMC Spokesperson

Wendell Huang
Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Tel: 886-3-5055901

Acting Spokesperson/Media Contacts

Nina Kao
Public Relations Department
Tel: 886-3-5636688 Ext.7125036