Chinese Students Make Strong Showing in 6th TSMC Outstanding Student Research Awards

Hsinchu, Taiwan, R.O.C. – September 14, 2012 –TSMC today recognized excellence in scholarship by young scientists and engineers at its sixth Outstanding Student Research Awards ceremony, selecting 24 finalists out of a field of 160 research papers from Taiwan, Japan, the United States, Great Britain, Australia, Israel, China, Hong Kong, South Korea, Singapore, India, and other regions. Winners were awarded by Dr. S.Y. Chiang, Chairman of the TSMC Academy and Executive Vice President and Co-Chief Operating Officer of TSMC, and will receive a substantial award, including US$10,000 for the highest honor in three categories of research, the “Gold Award”.

“The TSMC Outstanding Student Research Award, now in its sixth year, is aimed at cultivating talent for the semiconductor industry by encouraging graduate students from around the world interested in semiconductor-related fields to engage in research into innovative and exploratory research, research into fundamental science that forms the foundation of semiconductor R&D, and applied research,” said Dr. Burn Lin, Chairman of the Award Committee and Vice President of Research and Development, Nano-Patterning Technology. “We received papers in a broad variety of topics this year, and they have been highly innovative. In particular, the ability of students of Chinese ethnicity has clearly grown stronger, and Taiwan students have made an outstanding performance as well. This year is also the first time a student from Israel has entered the competition and won an award, showing that our original intention to serve as a platform for international scholarly exchange is indeed being realized.”

Competing papers spanned three categories: Circuit Design Technologies; Electronic Device, Process, and Patterning Technologies; and the Physics and Chemistry of Electronics Materials. Out of 160 entries, 112 papers were from overseas, and 48 were from Taiwan. Dr. Burn Lin led Design Technology Division Director Dr. Fu-Lung Hsueh, Technology Reliability Physics Research Director Dr. Anthony Oates, Digital IPs Solution Division Director Dr. L. C. Lu and 34 other Award Committee members in a two-stage evaluation process. In the first stage, judges select 24 finalists based on technical depth, innovation, technical and logical validity, accuracy, and simplicity, and significance. In the second stage, the 24 finalists present their research in English before the Award Committee and participate in a discussion with committee members, who may also give suggestions for further research. The committee then selects Gold, Silver, and Bronze awards as well as Commendations in each category.

This year’s Gold Award winner in the Circuit Design Technologies category is Ryo Minami of the Tokyo Institute of Technology. The Gold Award winner in the Physics and Chemistry of Electronics Materials Category is Gaurav Giri of Stanford University. Nuo Xu of University of California, Berkeley won the Gold Award in Electronic Device, Process, and Patterning Technologies as well as the highest honor, the TSMC Academy Award. A list of the winners in each category follows: