TSMC Announces Four Candidates for Independent Director

Hsinchu, Taiwan, R.O.C., April 17, 2009 –TSMC held a special meeting of the Board of Directors today and approved four candidates for Independent Director, including three current Directors Sir Peter Leahy Bonfield, Mr. Stan Shih, and Ms. Carly Fiorina, as well as former Texas Instruments Chairman Thomas J. Engibous. These four candidates for Independent Director will stand for election at TSMC's Annual General Meeting on June 10, 2009.

“A sound and effective Board of Directors is the basis of good corporate governance,” said TSMC Chairman Dr. Morris Chang. “Over the years, each independent director has contributed their valuable experience and professional knowledge to offer guidance and monitor the company’s operations. They have continued to strengthen our corporate governance. We welcome the addition of Thomas Engibous, and are confident that with his extensive experience in leading a world-class semiconductor company, he will be a valuable addition to the Board. At the same time, we are deeply grateful to Dr. Thurow’s contributions to the Board since joining us as an independent director in April 2002.

Mr. Engibous earned his Masters’ Degree in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in 1976, joined Texas Instruments in the same year, and served there until retirement in 2008. During his 32-year career at TI, his duties included Executive Vice President and President of the company's Semiconductor Group from 1993 to 1996, President and CEO from 1996 to 1998, and Chairman, President and CEO from 1998 to 2004. From 2004 to 2008 he focused on his position as Chairman of TI. Mr. Engibous currently serves as Lead Director of J.C. Penney Company Inc., Trustee of the Southwestern Medical Foundation, and a member of the Business Council.

Attachment: TSMC Independent Director Candidates